Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Except holidays or posted necessity
(Office remains open during lunch hours)
102 East Laurel Street
Scottsboro, AL 35768
Donna Barksdale, Circuit Clerk
Jackson County Courthouse, 2nd Floor, Room 307
102 East Laurel Street, Scottsboro, Alabama 35768
APPLICANTS FOR A U.S. PASSPORT SHOULD CALL FOR AN APPOINTMENT.
Appointments are made between 8:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday.
Applications for a Passport must be completed in BLACK INK
and the applicant must appear IN PERSON before the Acceptance Agent. at the scheduled appointment time.
Application forms (form DS-11) are available online at www.travel.state.gov and in the Circuit Clerk’s Office.
IN ADDITION TO the completed application
YOU WILL NEED:
- IDENTIFICATION: A government-issued photo I.D. such as driver's
license or military I.D.
- PROOF OF CITIZENSHIP: (Listed below are the most common)
• CERTIFIED COPY of your Birth Certificate.
(A certified copy will have a raised certification seal or colored ink certification
seal by the State in which you were born). If you were born in Alabama, you can
now get a certified copy of your birth certificate at the local County Health Department.
If you were born outside of Alabama, we can give you contact information to obtain
your birth certificate.
• Previous U.S. passport (Children under 16 also need
proof of parental or guardian relationship. Examples are the child's birth certifcate, adoption papers
and custody orders)
• ORIGINAL Naturalization Certificate
(If you do not have any of the above, you should call the Passport Information Center at 1-877-487-2778 or visit travel.state.gov for more information.)
- PASSPORT FEES: Check or money order payable to the U. S. Department
of State. (No cash accepted for U. S. Department of State fees.) (Credit cards
-Passport Book Fees (Routine Processing):
Age 15 and younger: $80.00
Age 16 and older: $110.00
-Passport Card Fees (Routine Processing):
Age 15 and younger: $15.00
Age 16 and older: $30.00
-EXPEDITED Passport BOOK Fees: (includes additional $60)
Passport Book – Age 15 and younger: $140.00
Passport Book – Age 16 and older: $170.00
Additional charge for overnight return delivery (if
desired) $20.66 per application
-EXPEDITED Passport CARD Fees: (includes additional $60)
Passport Card – Age 15 and younger: $75.00
Passport Card – Age 16 and older: $90.00
(Overnight return delivery not an option with Passport
- ACCEPTANCE AGENT FEE: Separate check or money order payable to
(We also accept cash for this fee only.)
$25.00 (ea. Application)
- PHOTOGRAPHS: One 2" X 2" color passport photo, with
plain light-colored background.
ALL MINOR CHILDREN MUST APPEAR IN PERSON WITH THEIR PARENT(S).
If a child is age 15 or younger both parents or legal guardian
must appear with photo I.D. to sign the application in this office.
If only one parent appears you must also present evidence of:
- Sole legal custody of the child, or
- Second parent's notarized written statement, with copy of photo I.D. consenting to passport issuance for
the child. (Form DS-3053), or
- Statement of Exigent/Special Family Circumstances (Form DS-5525) made under penalty of perjury
explaining the second parent's unavailability.
Routine processing time is approximately 6 weeks from date of application.
Expedited processing time is approximately 3 weeks.
(NOTE: The above processing times are estimates only and are subject to change. Please visit travel.state.gov for the most current information.)
To make an appointment or ask questions, call our office (256-574-9320).
Appointments are generally available 8:30 a.m. thru 4:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday (excluding State holidays).
Passports are issued through the U.S. Department of State.
For further information, questions and inquiries visit: http://www.travel.state.gov
or contact the National Passport Information Center
1-877-487-2778, For TDD: 1-900-225-7778