Menu

Operating Hours

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Except holidays or posted necessity

(Office remains open during lunch hours)

Links

  alapay.com

Trial Court Records

Contact Us

Phone:(256) 574-9320
Fax:(256) 259-9981

102 East Laurel Street
Scottsboro, AL 35768


Need Directions??

Jackson County

Divorce (Uncontested-with children)
Divorce (Uncontested-without children

Alabama Parent-Child Relationship Act

Registration of Child Custody Determination

Office located on the 2nd Floor
Circuit Court Division
Telephone: 256-574-9328


Alabama Legal Help Website - www.alabamalegalhelp.org

CLICK HERE to download a Motion Cover Sheet

CLICK HERE for information and to download the Vital Statistics Form (Certificate of Divorce)

CLICK HERE for information on Petition for Modification or Petition for Contempt

CLICK HERE to download C-Series Forms
(using the scroll down menu - stop on C-Series, then click on GO)

CLICK HERE to download Certificate of Commissioner form (fillable)

PS14 - Request to Send a Child or Minor to the Department of Mental Health

PS16 - Request to be Considered an Adult (by a Minor who is 18 years old)

UNCONTESTED DIVORCE CASE

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR FILING
(**indicates form available at link below)

  • Complaint
  • Child Support Information Sheet (Form CS-47)(even if no minor children)
  • Answer, Waiver and Agreement for Taking Testimony
  • Testimony of Plaintiff (must be sworn before the Clerk)
  • Defendant’s Acknowledgment of Non-representation (if only Plaintiff has atty.)
  • Divorce Decree (ready for Judge’s signature)
  • Separation Agreement (original and 2 copies)(signatures must be notarized)
  • Vital Statistics Form (Certificate of Divorce)
PARTIES WHO HAVE MINOR CHILDREN, THE FOLLOWING IS ALSO REQUIRED
  • Child Support Obligation Income Statement/Affidavit (both parties)
  • Child Support Guideline Form
  • Child Support Guideline Notice of Compliance
  • Withholding Order Payment of Child Support (form #CS-34 Instructions for Employer>
  • Children Cope with Divorce Seminar Certificate (both parties)

Click here for a list of filing fees.

 

UNContested Divorce - WITH Minor Children

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR FILING
(**indicates form available at link below)

  1. Complaint, including Affidavit of Residency (must be notarized)
  2. Testimony of Plaintiff (must be sworn before the Clerk)
  3. ** Child Support Information Sheet (Form CS-47)
  4. Defendant’s Answer and Waiver (must be notarized)
  5. Defendant’s Acknowledgment of Non-representation
  6. ** Child Support Obligation Income Statement/Affidavit (both parties)(Form CS-41)
  7. ** Child Support Guideline Form (Form CS-42)
  8. ** Child Support Guideline Notice of Compliance (Form CS-43)
  9. Certificate of Completion of Transparenting Class (both parties) (or supplemental decree) (Call 256-259-1774 to schedule class)
  10. ** Withholding Order Payment of Child Support (Form CS-01CSED) (completed and ready for Judge’s signature) (Required, even if not to be served at this time)
  11. Divorce Decree (ready for Judge’s signature)
  12. Separation Agreement (original and 2 copies)(must be notarized)
  13. ** Vital Statistics Form (Certificate of Divorce)

Click here for a list of filing fees.


Uncontested divorces cannot be presented to a Jackson County Judge for signature until at least 30 days after filing. After the 30 days, the filing party’s attorney should notify the Clerk when the file is ready to be presented to the Judge. If all the required forms have been properly filed, the Clerk will then send to the Judge for signature.


When any order of Child Support is entered, the Withholding Order payment of Child Support shall be served on the employer immediately, unless the parties have reached an alternative agreement and the judge approves such agreement. The following forms must be completed and filed when the Withholding Order payment of child support is to be served immediately:

** Notice to Defendant (Form CS-33)
** Answer to Order of Withholding (Form CS-35)
** Order of Service and Return (for service on employer) (Form C-15)

Click here for a list of filing fees.

 

Contested Divorce - NO Minor Children

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR FILING
(**indicates form available at link below)

  1. Complaint, including Affidavit of Residency (must be notarized)
  2. Testimony of Plaintiff (must be sworn before the Clerk)
  3. ** Child Support Information Sheet (Form CS-47)(with party’s information completed)
  4. Summons (for service on Defendant)
  5. Divorce Decree (ready for Judge’s signature)
  6. ** Vital Statistics Form (Certificate of Divorce) (completed) Items 1-4 are required at the time of filing. Remaining forms may be filed later.

Click here for a list of filing fees.

 

Contested Divorce - WITH Minor Children

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR FILING
(**indicates form available at link below)

  1.  Complaint, including Affidavit of Residency (must be notarized)
  2.  Testimony of Plaintiff (must be sworn before the Clerk)
  3. ** Child Support Information Sheet (Form CS-47)
  4. Summons (to be served on Defendant)
  5. ** Child Support Obligation Income Statement/Affidavit (both parties) (Form CS-41)
  6. ** Child Support Guideline Form (Form CS-42)
  7. ** Child Support Guideline Notice of Compliance (Form CS-43)
  8. Certificate of Completion of Transparenting Class (both parties) (or supplemental decree) (Call 256-259-1774 to schedule class)
  9. ** Withholding Order Payment of Child Support (Form CS-01CSED) (completed and ready for Judge’s signature) (Required, even if not to be served at this time)
  10. Divorce Decree (ready for Judge’s signature)
  11. Separation Agreement (original and 2 copies)(must be notarized)
  12. ** Vital Statistics Form (Certificate of Divorce) Items 1-4 are required at the time of filing. Remaining forms may be filed later.

Click here for a list of filing fees.


When any order of Child Support is entered, the Withholding Order payment of Child Support shall be served on the employer immediately, unless the parties have reached an alternative agreement and the judge approves such agreement. The following forms must be completed and filed when the Withholding Order payment of child support is to be served immediately:

** Notice to Defendant (Form CS-33)
** Answer to Order of Withholding (Form CS-35)
** Order of Service and Return (for service on employer) (Form C-15)

Click here for a list of filing fees.


Links for Forms and additional information:
**State of Alabama, Unified Judicial System E-forms – http://eforms.alacourt.gov/